Lost Sounds

Lost Sounds

Alan Renton

£7.99Click to Etailers >>
Print edition: £16.99
240 × 170mm
224 pages
liberally illustrated

An intriguing history and one not to be missed. The book visits a number of lighthouses at different times over the last 130 years to reveal the philanthropic, scientific and romantic story of the fog signal - how it came about, how the machinery worked and, for the mariner and the keeper, what it sounded like!

The development of fog signals complemented the expansion of lighthouse construction worldwide from the last quarter of the 19th century and represented the attempt to provide a navigation aid to mariners when the beam of light from the lighthouse lens was obscured by fog. This aim, despite the best efforts of the available technology, was frustrated by the medium of air with its effect on sound propagation, but the attempt to overcome the difficulties encouraged many eminent Victorian scientists and engineers to help shape the story of fog signals - the development of powerful machinery specifically designed to send loud noises out to sea!

This story of fog signals is drawn from visits and site surveys at specific lighthouses with wide research of original documents held by the lighthouse authorities, private companies, museums and archives. Lost Sounds reveals the practical developments of sound signals from the early percussion instruments to the later succession of compressed air sirens and diaphones through to the last remaining electric emitters.

Related Items


Keep in touch with new book information and special deals by subscribing here and get your first deal as a thank you!

Payment & Delivery

In the UK P&P is £3.50 for the first book, plus £1.00 for each additional one.

Customer Comments

Thanks for your excellent service.
Paul, New Zealand
Thanking you for your swift dispatch.
Christine, Switzerland
...it survived the trip well and is in good shape. Thank you.
Erik, USA
Dunbeath, Caithness, Scotland KW6 6EG, UK T: +44(0)1593 731 333 E: info@whittlespublishing.com

Sitemap | Copyright © 2024 Whittles Publishing | Site by Plexus